Book Quotes #4: Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

Another book I found while surfing Goodreads. That site is beyond awesome. Haha! Anyway, I just saw a quote from it, this quote:

“…and we’ll see what happens when we say Yes while this rigor mortis world screams No.”

So I checked out other quotes from the book and I loved every single one! So I checked the plot of the novel and here it is as provided by Goodreads:

A zombie who yearns for a better life ends up falling in love—with a human—in this astonishingly original debut novel.

R is a zombie. He has no memories, no identity, and no pulse, but he has dreams. He doesn’t enjoy killing people; he enjoys riding escalators and listening to Frank Sinatra. He is a little different from his fellow Dead.

Not just another zombie novel, Warm Bodies is funny, scary, and deeply moving.

So interesting! So I immediately downloaded the ebook and I will come around to reading it some time soon, the sooner the better! I will update you guys once I finish reading it but for now, here are more quotes I loved from the novel. Enjoy!

“I want to change my punctuation. I long for exclamation marks, but I’m drowning in ellipses.”

“Writing isn’t letters on paper. It’s communication. It’s memory.” 

“You should always be taking pictures, if not with a camera then with your mind. Memories you capture on purpose are always more vivid than the ones you pick up by accident.” 

“There is no ideal world for you to wait around for. The world is always just what it is now, and it’s up to you how you respond to it.” 

“We are where we are, however we got here. What matters is where we go next.” 

“What wonderful thing didn’t start out scary?” 

“We’re fumbling in the dark, but at least we’re in motion.”

“In my mind I am eloquent; I can climb intricate scaffolds of words to reach the highest cathedral ceilings and paint my thoughts. But when I open my mouth, everything collapses.” 

“I want a new past,new memories, a new first handshake with love. I want to start over in every possible way.” 

“What a massive responsibility, being a moral creature” 

“…wanting change is step one, but step two is taking it.” 

“There’s no benchmark for how life’s “supposed” to happen. There is no ideal world for you to wait around for. The world is always just what it is now, it’s up to you how you respond to it.”

About whoopeeyoo

I'm a TV and film junkie. Be it American, Korean, Japanese, Taiwanese, I watch them all. No wonder I don't have enough sleep and hard drive memory. Hee. And oh, fangirling is my business.

Leave a Reply

