Book Review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I am battling whether to give it a 4 or a 5 but then I just chose 4. It’s just that, I really had so much fun reading it and made squeaky dolphin noises at Peeta’s character but I don’t think it’s at par with my love for Flowers for Algernon or The Godfather for me to give it a 5. You see, I give 5’s to books that move me and while this was a good and exciting read, it really isn’t moving. Maybe this is because I’m still on the first book but my friends had told me that the first is the best and it went downhill. So if that’s the case, I don’t think it would get a 5. I mean, the books that I’ve rated as 5 had a special meaning to me and those books I will never forget. I don’t think I’ll remember The Hunger Games though when I grow old. It is really good YA stuff, much like Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour which at first I gave a 5 out of the high, then I changed it to 4 then to 5 and then at last, to 4. I guessed the same thing happened here, that the high could have clouded my judgment and so I tried to be as objective as possible and it’s a 4. Maybe it’s a 4.5 or even a 4.8 but it would never be a 5 in my opinion. Still, a great read! :D

View all my reviews

About whoopeeyoo

I'm a TV and film junkie. Be it American, Korean, Japanese, Taiwanese, I watch them all. No wonder I don't have enough sleep and hard drive memory. Hee. And oh, fangirling is my business.

Leave a Reply

