Book Blog Tour: Nocturnal & Nightmare by Chelsea M. Cameron (Review + Giveaway)

Photobucket

Here it is! The Noctalis Chronicles is here! The first two books in Chelsea M. Cameron’s The Noctalis Chronicles, Nocturnal and Nightmare, is on tour with SupaGurl Book Tours and I am one of the lucky blogs to host! In my stop, you can read what I think about both books. There is also a scavenger hunt for this book tour and a whole lot more! So sit tight and lend me your eyes for reading and enjoy!

About Nocturnal (The Noctalis Chronicles #1)

Nocturnal (The Noctalis Chronicles, #1)

Seventeen-year-old Ava-Claire Sullivan’s mother is dying. Perhaps it’s no surprise, then, that her greatest solace comes from someone who’s already dead.

Peter Hart saves her one night in a graveyard from an attacker just as strange as he is, and now Ava can’t stop thinking about him. She wants to see him again – even after he warns her he’s dangerous, and she begins to realize what he is. Her best friends don’t know anything about death, but Peter does, intimately. He’s waiting for her the next night she comes to the cemetery, and the next…

But their growing bond comes up against a promise Peter made a long time ago, a promise that could destroy them both. Now Ava has to decide just what she’s willing to give up to hold onto the one thing that could last forever.

Purchase at Amazon!

My Review

What a gorgeous cover! Now that I put that right out off the gate, let’s get on with the review.

If I haven’t said it enough, I’m not really into vampire stories and novels. I much prefer werewolves, angels and mermaids any day. Which is really weird because I pretty much gobble up anything The Vampire Diaries (the series though, not the book). I don’t know why but it’s just the way it is, I guess. So I was a bit wary going into this book but I trusted that Heather of SupaGurl Book Tours would not book a tour if said novel is short of amazing. And once again, I thank my blind faith on Heather. This is such a lovely book.

It wastes no time as we were smacked down with the news from the first chapter, Ava’s mom is diagnosed of cancer. Ava spends a lot of time in the book dealing with this news and that is made especially hard by his good-for-nothing father. But her mother is just an angel, a delight, and some of you might shed a tear or two (OR A LOT) with Ava and her mom’s relationship. So yes, this is full of teen angst rooted in family and death. Ava has two best friends, Tex and Jaime, whom she hasn’t confided with this news. Tex is a sassy girl while Jaime is a sweet jock. And of course, there’s Peter, spends-his-time-in-a-cemetery vampire Peter.

Ava knows better than to fall in love with a strange stranger but she can’t help getting interested and being drawn closer to Peter. She also unloads her problems on him, feeling like he understands her. Which I love. It’s not, we met and sparks flied and we kissed and we’re in love. Nope, it felt like a developing attraction and in turn, a developing relationship. Ava is trying to cope with her mother’s imminent fate with only six months to live and she’s trying to figure out Peter.

Overall, I deeply enjoyed this novel more than I thought I would given it’s a vampire novel. I just wished that Chelsea Cameron fleshed out Jamie’s character more and infused a compelling Peter-Ava-Jamie love triangle, or at least just even have a love triangle. But I guess that will make Ava’s plate too full to tackle so it’s okay. But Jamie is so sweet and sigh.

Ava felt like a real teen and I admire her equal parts courage and vulnerability shown in this book. Chelsea Cameron has written compelling characters that you’d want to see grow and have more novels revolving around them. Ha! As I finished Nocturnal, I immediately grabbed Nightmare to read. Good thing I also have a review copy for Nightmare or else I’ll be turning in my sleep. Haha!

Recommended to all YA paranormal fans. A great read!

About Nightmare (The Noctalis Chronicles #2)

Nightmare (The Noctalis Chronicles, #2)

Ava-Claire Sullivan’s first mistake was becoming vampire Peter Mackintire’s personal blood bank. Her second mistake was falling in love with him.

Now it’s Ava’s job to make sure he never loves her in return. A pact Peter made nearly a hundred years ago means loving someone will kill him. If she can figure out how to free him from his promise, it might kill her, make her immortal, or lead to the love she wants so badly.

But if she doesn’t, at best, her heart will break…and at worst, Peter will die.

Purchase at Amazon!

My Review

I had high expectations for Nightmare after coming right off Nocturnal and boy did it deliver! I was afraid that I’d just be disappointed because I set my expectation bars too high but that was not the case. Nightmare surprised me and had me flipping page after page, my intent on knowing what’s gonna happen not diminishing even for a second. Chelsea Cameron has written such a great sequel that I really want to read the third novel in the series. Which is not yet available. UGH. And to end this novel with a cliffhanger? WHY OH WHY CHELSEA? I’ve been so good, why punish me like this? HUHUHUHU. Anyway, let’s get on with the what I thought of the novel before I have some tantrums myself.

The cover was gorgeous and very eye-captivating once again. Now I wanna know who designed her covers because both are visually amazing. The novel had less of Ava’s mom’s cancer and the change was welcome as we spent the first book dealing with that. This book focused more on Peter and Ava and Tex and Victor too. I adore Peter and Ava and the wonderful world Chelsea Cameron has made for them to live in. Their interactions were so sweet and I was over the moon with all of it.

Great, just great. Can’t wait for the third novel in the series! Damn you, cliffhanger! Haha!

Announcement, Freebies and Giveaways!

Nocturnal and Nightmare will be free from August 10 to 14 on Amazon! WOOHOO!

Join us for Nocturnal Night on August 30th 8pm EST / 7pm CST for a LIVE Video chat with Author of Nocturnal and Nightmare Chelsea Cameron.

We will be chatting about everything from her books, the writing process, to Edward v/s Jacob *grins* There will be some giveaways going on too. Don’t have a webcam? No worries you can still totally join in with text chatting. You will be able to see everyone else. Shy? Don’t be we are all eager to meet you!! Join us for a night of Awesome.

http://nocturnalnight.eventbrite.com/

You can preregister at the above link. Which would be amazing or you can just show up…

On that night be sure to enter the chat with this link http://shindig.com/event/nocturnal

There’s a scavenger hunt ongoing for this tour! To know more about this AWESOME, FANTASTIC, giveaway, kindly go HERE HERE HERE!

About Chelsea M. Cameron

Chelsea M. Cameron is a YA writer from Maine. Lover of things random and ridiculous, Jane Austen/Charlotte and Emily Bronte Fangirl, red velvet cake enthusiast, obsessive tea drinker, vegetarian, former cheerleader and world’s worst video gamer. When not writing, she enjoys watching infomercials, singing in the car and tweeting. She has a degree in journalism from the University of Maine, Orono that she promptly abandoned to write about the people in her own head. More often than not, these people turn out to be just as weird as she is.

She has two books out now, Nocturnal and Nightmare, the first and second books in the Noctalis Chronicles about a girl with a dying mother who meets an immortal boy. The third book, Numb will be out this August, and the fourth in the winter. Her other book, Whisper, about a girl who is alive, a boy who isn’t and the complications that go along with their relationship, released June 16 and is the first in a trilogy. Follow her on Twitter: @chel_c_cam, her blog, or on Facebook.

Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Follow the Tour

Click on the tour banner at the top of this post to see the entire tour schedule. Enjoy hopping!

About whoopeeyoo

I'm a TV and film junkie. Be it American, Korean, Japanese, Taiwanese, I watch them all. No wonder I don't have enough sleep and hard drive memory. Hee. And oh, fangirling is my business.

Leave a Reply

