Book Blog Tour: Destiny’s Fire by Trisha Wolfe (Review + Giveaway)

Photobucket

And as promised, I have another stop on the YA Summer Reading with Omnific Publishing Tour. Yey! So, Destiny’s Fire is the first book in the Kythan Guardians series by Trisha Wolfe. I was so excited to read this book and I will not babble that much so we can start. Let’s get on with the blurb! (There’s also a review and giveaway at the bottom so let’s go!)

About Destiny’s Fire

Destiny's Fire (Kythan Guardians, #1)

It’s the year 2040, and sixteen-year-old Dez Harkly is one of the last of her kind—part of a nearly extinct race of shape-shifters descended from guardians to the Egyptian pharaohs. Her home and her secret are threatened when the Council lowers the barrier, allowing the enemy race to enter the Shythe haven.

As the Narcolym airships approach, Dez and her friends rebel against their Council and secretly train for battle. Not only is Dez wary of war and her growing affection for her best friend Jace, but she fears the change her birthday will bring. When Dez’s newfound power rockets out of control, it’s a Narcolym who could change her fate… if she can trust him.

Dez’s guarded world crumbles when she discovers why the Narcos have really come to Haven Falls, and she’s forced to choose between the race who raised her and the enemy she’s feared her whole life.

Purchase at Amazon

Book Trailer

My Review

What’s with the weird goggles on the cover girl’s hair? Why? I could have loved the cover wholeheartedly if it weren’t for that. I still like the cover, the color, the girl’s pose, everything, except the goggles. Haha! Now that that minor gripe has been said, let’s get it on with the glowing review! <3

First, the plot. Woah. This is so FREAKIN’ ORIGINAL. Shapeshifters that descended from the guardians of the Egyptian pharaoh. Woah. It’s far off but shoot me if it doesn’t work. First of all, SHAPESHIFTERS. I love anything shapeshifters as much as I love anything mermaid. So my enjoyment of a novel goes up tons of notches if it’s about shapeshifters. But they’re not just shapeshifters, they descended from the guardians of the Egyptian pharaohs. Egypt, oh Egypt. Another one of my favorites. Hihi.

So from the get-go, I am poised to like this book and that’s why I chose it for my stop. And attagirl, what good choice I’ve made! Trisha Wolfe has crafted such a unique and rich setting for this novel that it’s hard not to get sucked in. It’s hard to get into it at first but after everything falls right into place, after you get the feel of the novel, when the pace picks up, resistance is futile. I did find some loopholes and I found myself asking a lot of things but since this is the first book to a series, I’m expecting and hoping that those would be answered in the sequel. I need more history, bring it on!

Oh the romance, the romance. This book had some makeout scenes that will make even the toughest girls blush. Haha! Sly, very sly, Trisha Wolfe. To quote Oliver Twist, “Please, sir, I want some more”. HAHAHAHA!

And Reese, oh Reese. Swoonsville.

However, I must warn you though that Dez, the main character, is not for everyone. She’s strong and she has the ‘tude, but as with boys, you might get irritated by her jumping ships left and right. She has made WTF-ARE-YOU-THINKING-GIRL decisions and had some BAD-BAD-GIRL-ARE-YOU-KIDDING-ME moments and so if you find yourself not invested in her, you might not enjoy the book. But still stick to it and just enjoy the ride if you’re just indifferent to her. (Like I did with Katniss after her wrongdoings to Peeta HAHA) But if you hate her, I’m sorry, maybe this is not for you.

Anyway, the action scenes were very vivid and full of life and while it is very much fiction, 2040 doesn’t seem so far away. That’s what, 22 years from now. I’d be 40 by then and okay, let’s not go into that #dark place. Haha! The futuristic setting is just awesome, gah, love it!

I think I’m getting incoherent here and I’m just typing away what comes into mind. I hope I can improve this review in the future. The take-away message from all my swooning and spazzing and squealing is that, Trisha Wolfe is awesome and Destiny’s Fire is fantastic and if you’re itching for a YA steampunk novel, you should definitely pick this up. Absolutely definitely must pick this up. You need to! I know you want to! Go! Enter the giveaway and you might just win! :D

About Trisha Wolfe

I’m the author of the YA Steampunk/Paranormal Romance DESTINY’S FIRE (Omnific Publishing) and the upcoming YA Sci-Fi Utopian FIREBLOOD from Spencer Hill Press, November 2013. My published short stories have appeared in YA literary journals, Fantasy magazines, and anthologies. I’ve written four books in the past two years, and I’m currently working on a new YA Sci-Fi project.

I’m the creator of YA Bound, a promotional blog for the Young Adult genre.  Also a proud  member of YALITCHAT.ORGSCWW, and The Apocalypsies.

And I’m also a business owner, partnered with my partner, my husband. When I’m not busy doing all of the above, I’m a wife and the mother of a gorgeous teen boy who’s the sounding board for my male characters.

Website | GoodreadsFacebook | Twitter | Tumblr | YouTube Channel 

Giveaway

You can go over HERE to enter the tour-wide giveaway with a prize ePack of Omnific’s YA catalogue. But you can also enter my giveaway for a Destiny’s Fire ebook! It’s so simple!

Mandatory Entry: Leave a comment! :)

Extra Tasks: (Please tell me what extra tasks you’ve accomplished. :D)

+1 Follow @whoopeeyoo on Twitter and indicate your username.
+1 For every tweet about this giveaway.
+1 Follow or subscribe to my blog!
+1 Follow @TrishWolfe on Twitter.
+1 Add Destiny’s Fire to your Goodreads shelf. :)
+1 Add me as a friend or follow my reviews on Goodreads (whoopeeyoo).
+1 Add or follow Trisha Wolfe on Goodreads.

Good luck!

Follow the Tour

Click on the tour banner at the top of this post to see the entire tour schedule. Enjoy hopping!

About whoopeeyoo

I'm a TV and film junkie. Be it American, Korean, Japanese, Taiwanese, I watch them all. No wonder I don't have enough sleep and hard drive memory. Hee. And oh, fangirling is my business.

4 thoughts on “Book Blog Tour: Destiny’s Fire by Trisha Wolfe (Review + Giveaway)

  1. I loved your fun review! This is the first steampunk I’m reading so I’m hardly the expert but I think the goggles are for her rides on motorcycles in this steampunk universe?

    • Thanks! I think I sounded spastic though. Heehee. You’re probably right. It’s also my first steampunk novel and I just got somewhat enlightened on steampunk but I don’t really know a lot. Haha! It’s my first time to see goggles like that, so yeah. Thanks for dropping by! <3 (You have one entry on the giveaway!)

  2. I have heard so many amazing things about this book, I love you review its cute!!! I actually like the goggles its gives the cover a steampunk look and I love it! I sometimes get annoyed by girls that are really indecisive, but I usually can look past it and still really enjoy the story!!!
    Extra Entries:
    Follow @whoopeeyoo Twitter: @BridgetHoward3
    Tweet: https://twitter.com/BridgetHoward3/status/234669727191031809
    Follow @TrishaWolfe Twitter: @BridgetHoward3
    Added Destiny’s Fire to my Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/993989-bridget
    Added whoopeeyoo on goodreads: Bridget Howard
    Became a fan of Trisha Wolfe on Goodreads: Bridget Howard

    • Shows how much I don’t know about steampunk. Heehee. And thanks, I tend to get excited when I write a review of a book I really liked. Heehee.

      Wow, that’s a lot of entries! I checked and you now have seven entries! Woo to the hoo! Good luck and thanks for participating and dropping by! :D

Leave a Reply

