Book Blog Tour: Hollowed by Kelley York (Review)

Sorry for the semi-late post but it’s here! It’s finally here! The Hollowed Tour is here in my blog and I am providing you all a review! I good as begged Kelley to include me in the Hollowed tour so this is a big thing to me. Heehee. I hope my review will prove helpful for you to buy and read Hollowed. I spotlighted Hollowed before HERE. There’s also an excerpt so let’s get this started!

Hollowed

Hollowed by Kelley York

All 18-year-old Briar Greyson wanted was to figure out this whole living-away-from-your-parents thing. Apartment, steady job, cool roommate? Check. Noah, her adorable (albeit elusive) boyfriend? Check. Everything in the life of Briar was pretty good.

Then she and her roommate are attacked on their way home one night. Briar wasn’t supposed to survive.

Instead, according to the two guys who saved her, she’s turning into the things that attacked her: a vampire. Totally crazy and Not Okay. Now Noah’s secrets are coming to light, and he wants Briar dead. Then there are the vampires who attacked Briar to lure out her sister.

Her sister…who died years ago.

(Didn’t she?)

The city’s body count is rising, and Briar wants to help put a stop to it. But first, she has to figure out who the real enemy is: the vampires, the boy she loves, or the sister she thought she’d lost.

Purchase at Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Smashwords

Excerpt

Back home, the front door is unlocked and Oliver is waiting in the living room. The look he gives me is nothing shy of unimpressed.

“You’re supposed to be resting.”

“Dude. Seriously? Out of my house.” I hold open the door. He leans over me, presses a hand flat against the wood and shoves it closed effortlessly. His stare is intense enough I want to shrivel into a little ball and cry. Jerk.

“Maybe you don’t believe us yet, but you will. And when you do, you’re not going to want to go through it alone.” He studies my face. “There’s no one better to help you through this than Cole.”

I try feigning boredom. “Is that right. Why?”

“Because he’s old.” Oliver straightens and meanders across the living room. It’s easier to deal with him when he isn’t in my face. His presence is heavy. Something physical assaulting all my senses. I’ll blame it on the sickness. “He’s been through a lot, seen a lot. And because when I turned, he took care of me.”

I glance at him sideways. He’s really thought this whole vampire thing out, hasn’t he? “If he’s so great, then why are you here instead of him?”

Oliver rolls his broad shoulders into a shrug. “He’s working.”

“What kind of work do vampires secure these days? Blood banks? Are the benefits any good? No eating on the job, I guess.”

He glares. “Don’t patronize me.”

I rub my eyes. My head is killing me. “Yeah, look, I’m really tired. You’re freaking me out, and I’m waiting for a phone call. I’d like it if you left and didn’t come back.”

My Review

First things first. The cover is tantalizingly beautiful and interesting and intriguing. Cover love! I love the font, the girl’s eyes, everything! <3 Now that the superficial has been said because I’ve learned not to fawn over books just because of their pretty covers or to snob others with less than appealing covers, let’s get on with the actual review.

Kelley has created such a wonderful world in this novel. I am sure that I will be itching until I get my grubby paws on the sequel. The world she created was very rich and it’s different from all the other vampire novels I’ve read. I don’t want to spoil you guys but let’s just say, the novel’s setting and conditions, the world it’s moving in and the far too great characters, made me an instant fan of Kelley. I haven’t read Hushed and I think I need to stat because I want more of her writing!

The characters were great. Gah! Briar, what a cool name, starts out pretty meek and your run-off-the-mill girl but she gets sassy afterwards. She’s kickass and I love ’em kickass heroines. She’s logical and I LOVE LOVE LOVE reasonable, thinking, not-dumb heroines. Even though she makes some illogical decisions, you can’t blame her because you understand her. That’s it, I am emotionally invested in Briar and so, I am with her every step of the way, every page of the book. It doesn’t hurt that the other characters were fantastic too. Seriously, the characters made this book edge out than your normal paranormal YA fare.

What’s even better is that it is set in a world with paranormal elements but it explores humanity and good versus evil. This book feels so real that you just can’t help but to wear your heart on your sleeve and ride this rollercoaster of feelings and twists and turns. I enjoyed the book so much and it exercised the feelings department of my heart. Heehee. This is one book you will enjoy immensely, I assure you of that (given we sort of like the same stuff). I recommend you to buy this book asap and start reading it! If you haven’t checked out the excerpt I included, do read it so you could get a feel. Read the sample at Smashwords too if you want. :)

My review might not have been very clear on the things that I loved because I don’t want to spoil any. It’s also hard to give so much praises to a book because I don’t know where to start. The takeaway message is that YOU MUST CHECK THIS BOOK OUT.

Kudos to Kelley York for writing this and for making me hungry for the sequel, Shadow Voices. And thank you too for letting me be part of this blog tour. <3 <3 <3

About Kelley York

Kelley was born and raised in central California, where she still resides with her lovely wife, daughter, and an abundance of pets. (Although she does fantasize about moving across the globe to Ireland.) She has a fascination with bells, adores all things furry – be them squeaky, barky, or meow-y – is a lover of video games, manga and anime, and likes to pretend she’s a decent photographer. Her life goal is to find a real unicorn. Or maybe a mermaid.

Within young adult, she enjoys writing and reading a variety of genres from contemporary with a unique twist, psychological thrillers, paranormal/urban fantasy and horror. She loves stories where character development takes center stage.

As of January 2011, Kelley is a proud member of the Young Adult writers group blog, YAtopia, as well as For the Love of Contemporary. She is currently unagented. Her YA thriller, HUSHED, is now available via Entangled Publishing. She has two upcoming novels: HOLLOWED (August, 2012) and MADE OF STARS (Fall 2013).

Website | Goodreads | Twitter

About whoopeeyoo

I'm a TV and film junkie. Be it American, Korean, Japanese, Taiwanese, I watch them all. No wonder I don't have enough sleep and hard drive memory. Hee. And oh, fangirling is my business.

Leave a Reply

