Book Blog Tour: Stitch by Samantha Durante (Review)

Yesterday, it was Hollowed. Not we got Stitch as the second book blog tour I joined which was organized by the author herself. Which means I’m SOOOO excited for this book. Good thing Sam was very nice and lovely to talk with and she granted me a spot. Woo! Anyway, can’t wait to review this for you guys so let’s get it started! Hope you enjoy!

Stitch (Stitch Trilogy, #1)

Stitch by Samantha Durante

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Ghost, Dystopian, Post-Apocalyptic, Young Adult, New Adult
Length: 75,000 words (314 pages)
Sample chapters: Ch1-5 (38 pages)
Release date: August 1st, 2012

Her heart races, her muscles coil, and every impulse in Alessa’s body screams at her to run… but yet she’s powerless to move.

Still struggling to find her footing after the sudden death of her parents, the last thing college freshman Alessa has the strength to deal with is the inexplicable visceral pull drawing her to a handsome ghostly presence. In between grappling with exams and sorority soirees – and disturbing recurring dreams of being captive in a futuristic prison hell – Alessa is determined to unravel the mystery of the apparition who leaves her breathless. But the terrifying secret she uncovers will find her groping desperately through her nightmares for answers.

Because what Alessa hasn’t figured out yet is that she’s not really a student, the object of her obsession is no ghost, and her sneaking suspicions that something sinister is lurking behind the walls of her university’s idyllic campus are only just scratching the surface…

The opening installment in a twist-laden trilogy, Stitch spans the genres of paranormal romance and dystopian sci-fi to explore the challenges of a society in transition, where morality, vision, and pragmatism collide leaving the average citizen to suffer the results.

Purchase at Amazon | Smashwords | B&N

My Review

The literature landscape today is saturated with the dystopian genre. It was there alright before The Hunger Games broke out but ever since The Hunger Games became the talk of the town, even non-readers, dystopia seemed to be the “in” thing. I understand that because I’m a dystopia junkie myself (yeah, I like the world crumbling as a setting haha!) and so, I ensure any dystopian fans out there that you’d love this one. That’s for sure. It’s not even your usual dystopia fare because it pulls you into a twist you wouldn’t see coming (given that you did not overanalyzed the blurb) and you’ll realize you’re reading a novel set in a dystopic world. How cool is that? Pulling a genre change right inside the novel and it won’t make your eyes roll. Samantha, you rock!

Anyway, I don’t like to spoil you guys because the fun in this rollercoaster of a novel is in reading it without any prior knowledge. Seriously, it would be best to let it surprise you. Like it did to me. <3

Samantha Durante has written such a well thought out premise, such a rich world, so realistic you’d get afraid to be in it. It’s such an amazing first book to a series and I cannot wait for the second book. Stitch ended in a cliffhanger and I hate cliffhangers as much as I love them. It makes the book so much better while making me crave and yearn for the sequel so much. Cliffhangers <3 HUHU (bipolar much? haha!)

Aleesa, what a unique name. However, Aleesa is your average college freshman and how much do I love that the main character is in college? So much, that is. I find it easier to relate to college-aged heroines now since I am in college too and it’s so good that Aleesa is not a pushover and that she is her own person. I really like her! And of course, Isaac. <3

The romance aspect wasn’t fully developed but that’s fine with me because I was so into the world Samantha has created that I didn’t feel cheated for not having a full romance arc. This book isn’t a romance novel but I sure do hope the next books would have more romance in them. What can I say? I’m still a girl! Haha!

The novel is mostly written in Aleesa’s perspective but some chapters are told by Isaac which I love because it gives me some insight on how Isaac thinks. Overall, I just love how Samantha thought out this elaborate plot, executed it by writing it wonderfully and then capping it off with all these twists and turns and that damn cliffhanger that will make you dream of the sequel. I sure did. I recommend this to teens and not-so-teens alike who love dystopia and who love being surprised. Such an amazing debut, Samantha! You definitely rock!

About Samantha Durante

Samantha Durante lives in New York City with her fiancé, Sudeep, and her cat, Gio. Formerly an engineer at Microsoft, Samantha left the world of software in 2010 to pursue her entrepreneurial dreams and a lifelong love of writing. A graduate of the University of Pennsylvania’s Jerome Fisher Program in Management & Technology, Samantha is currently working full time for her company Medley Media Associates as a freelance business writer and communications consultant. Stitch is her first novel. Learn more about Samantha at http://www.samanthadurante.com.

Facebook | Goodreads | LibraryThing | Shelfari

Stitch Facebook

Follow the Tour!

Click on the tour banner at the top of this post to see the blog tour schedule! <3

About whoopeeyoo

I'm a TV and film junkie. Be it American, Korean, Japanese, Taiwanese, I watch them all. No wonder I don't have enough sleep and hard drive memory. Hee. And oh, fangirling is my business.

One thought on “Book Blog Tour: Stitch by Samantha Durante (Review)

Leave a Reply

