Book Blog Tour: Seaweed by Elle Strauss (Review)

Photobucket

Merfolk! Merfolk! Merfolk! YA! YA! YA! My favorite mer-lore in my fave genre.

About Seaweed

Seaweed

Dori Seward can’t wait to get out of Eastcove, a sleepy fishing village on the border of New Brunswick and Maine. She bides her time by hanging out with friends, attending swim club, and holding her biggest competition, Colby–who wants more than just friendship, at arm’s length.

Then Tor Riley comes to town and he has everything Dori dreams of in a boyfriend–looks, athleticism and mystery.

But Tor also has a tantalizing secret and Dori is determined to find out what it is. The truth is crazier than her wildest imaginations and more dangerous, too. Dori has new enemies, and they will do anything to get to her.

Her life, her dreams and her love for Tor are all weighing in the balance. Will Dori risk it all in order to have it all?

My Review

I would love to thank AToMR tours for hosting this book blog tour, leading me to have read Seaweed. And thank you for Elle Strauss for writing this novel. Seaweed is such a cute and fun YA read. That’s it and sometimes you need just that simple YA novel to uplift your spirits. I admit, I may be biased since I love anything mer and I think I love anything YA but if you’re looking for some cute, zippy read, read this. Surely, Dori might get a little bit immature at times and she might frustrate you with her decisions and thinking but that’s how people her age act. The characters all behaved their age and while it might make some people’s eyes to roll, I just took it in stride. The merfolklore is what I’m here for. And I got it!

I love how different authors take different stabs on the mer-lore and I definitely loved Elle’s reimagining of such a world and the world she set for the novel to revolve around. Overall, like I said, typical YA stuff with the mer twist. Oh, and it has secrets and mysteries too. *giddy* Hope you’ll pick yourselves a copy and comment here when you’ve read it! :D

About Elle Strauss

Elle Strauss writes time travel and merfolk chic-lit, light SF and historical YA fiction. When she’s not writing, she’s reading, hanging out with friends and family, and sometimes traveling. To ward off writer’s butt she does a bit of hiking, biking and yoga. Elle is married with four children and divides her time between British Columbia, Canada, and Germany. She writes upper/mature YA (historical and science fiction) under the name Lee Strauss.

Blog | Facebook | Twitter

Giveaway!

The author is giving away a signed print copy of CLOCKWISE with a whale fin necklace (pic attached of author wearing necklace) and a print copy of SEAWEED. Open to US/Canada only due to shipping. Please use the Rafflecopter code HERE to enter!

Follow the Tour!

Click on the tour banner at the top of this post to see all the stops in this tour! Enjoy hopping and good luck on the giveaway! :D

About whoopeeyoo

I'm a TV and film junkie. Be it American, Korean, Japanese, Taiwanese, I watch them all. No wonder I don't have enough sleep and hard drive memory. Hee. And oh, fangirling is my business.

Leave a Reply

