Book Blog Tour: Madly series by M. Leighton (Review)

The Madly series is composed of three books. The first one is Madly, a novella, the second is Madly & Wolfhardt and the third, Madly & the Jackal. I have for you a series review. I will be posting individual reviews outside of the tour so watch out for that. For now, enjoy my stop on the Madly tour!

Madly (Madly, #1)

Madly (Madly #1) by M. Leighton

Madly is your average nearly-eighteen year old girl—for a princess, that is.

Madly James is thoroughly enjoying her internship in the small town of Slumber when the unthinkable happens—there’s a prison break in Atlas, the magically-protected home of Madly’s race. A traitor has set free eight Lore, the spirits of what humans know as fairy tales, and they are making their way to Slumber to awaken their descendants.

In order to save her home, the lives of her family, and all of humanity, Madly must learn to wield her exceptional powers and recapture the Lore before it’s too late and all is lost. But Madly’s only help are her two best friends and the Sentinel, Jackson Hamilton, that threatens both her heart and her destiny. Madly has loved Jackson as long as she can remember, but he is the one thing even a princess can’t have. Can she resist love to become the queen she was fated to be? Or can she find a way to have both?

This novelette introduces you to Madly and prepares you for the quest of a lifetime.

Madly is free on Amazon so grab a copy now!

Madly & Wolfhardt (Madly, #2)

Madly & Wolfhardt (Madly #2) by M. Leighton

Madly is your average nearly-eighteen year old girl—for a princess, that is.

Madly James is thoroughly enjoying her internship in the small town of Slumber when the unthinkable happens—there’s a prison break in Atlas, the magically-protected home of Madly’s race. A traitor has set free eight Lore, the spirits of what humans know as fairy tales, and they are making their way to Slumber to awaken their descendants.

The first spirit to arrive is that of Ulrich Wolfhardt, a man that was once obsessed with wolves and a young maiden he would follow through the woods. After a bite from a wolf, Wolfhardt’s obsession with the girl became an unnatural hunger and the young maiden’s grandmother cursed him with a fate worse than death. And now he’s back…with a vengeance and a bite that can infect others as well.

Madly must learn the identity of Wolfhardt’s descendant and stop him before he kills again and spreads his curse across the earth. But the only person strong enough to help Madly is Jackson, the Sentinel who vowed to protect her and the one person capable of breaking her heart. Can Madly resist forbidden love long enough to save the world from Wolfhardt? Or will she have to sacrifice her heart and her destiny to save the ones she loves?

Purchase at Amazon

Madly & the Jackal (Madly, #3)

Madly & the Jackal (Madly #3) by M. Leighton

How deep does love run? Deeper than the ocean? Deeper than memory? Deeper than magic?

Following their plan to save Atlas, Madly and Jackson return the spirit of Wolfhardt to his prison beneath the sea. But even the best laid plans couldn’t account for the surprises they find. This time, Lore aren’t their only challenges.

Madly is special in ways no one could have guessed and dark forces seek to control her. They want her power, but first they must weaken her. They need her beaten. Vulnerable. Near death. And alone. But that task isn’t an easy one with Jackson at her side. The strongest of their kind, the only way to separate Jackson from Madly is to destroy his love for her, to erase it from his mind. And his heart.

Is it possible to steal Jackson’s love from Madly? Or is their love the only truly unbreakable thing?

Purchase at Amazon

My Review of the Series

Wow, M. Leighton, just wow. I’ve heard and read tons and tons of praises for you but I can’t join in on the fun because I haven’t read any book of yours yet. So I signed up for this tour so I can read some of her books for free. Mehehe, what, I live on student allowance, I can’t afford all the books that I want! Anyway, I was really happy when I was chosen for the tour and infinitely happier when I read the book. Friends, it was so AMAZEBALLS that I am seriously gonna read everything written by M. Leighton.

The Madly series centers around Madly, a mermaid royalty. That’s not a spoiler because the Madly series is about mermaids. And you do know how I feel about mermaids. As I’ve previously mentioned in my reviews of mermaid books (I think I should make a “mermaid” tag already), I love anything and everything about the merfolk. So it’s not surprising that I really really like this series and enjoyed it so much.

The first book is a novella and it feels more like the first few chapters of an actual book as it gave us a glimpse on this wonderful world. Michelle has written and described such an exquisite world where you can just feel like you’re there with them. If the setting was not constructed artfully, I tend to read a fantasy book with a certain level of detachment. But since this series is awesome, nope, I was swept out into Madly’s world. That glimpse that Madly showed me of this world, of all the premises of a story it can hold, made me read the next book immediately. And the next. That good.

Plus, Madly and Jackson’s romance wasn’t corny. It was far from corny as it was very realistic and very smile-inducing. Some might say it’s steamy, well yeah it is, but damn if it didn’t make my heart squeal and go gaga. They are also such fantastic characters you’d root for all the way. M. Leighton did a good job in her characterization and I think that this shoe just fits my feet. That analogy. It just captured me so yeah.

Of course it tackled issues too such as friendship, responsibility, love, family, fate and all that shnazz. And M. Leighton dealt with all of them so fine that I’m so giddy right now, just writing this review.

So now, go download Madly for free and read the next two books because YOU HAVE TO. Life is too short for bad novels so read great ones. This series is great. <3

Giveaway

M. Leighton is giving away signed paperbacks of the series, a swag pack and a Madly shirt! Click HERE to get to the Rafflecopter widget. For USA/Canada only.

Follow the Tour!

Click on the tour banner at the top of this post to see the full tour schedule! :D Enjoy hopping!

About whoopeeyoo

I'm a TV and film junkie. Be it American, Korean, Japanese, Taiwanese, I watch them all. No wonder I don't have enough sleep and hard drive memory. Hee. And oh, fangirling is my business.

One thought on “Book Blog Tour: Madly series by M. Leighton (Review)

  1. I absolutely love these books ive been lost for 3 days reading them was wondering if the fourth or when the fourth book will be out? cant wait to read it!!!

Leave a Reply

