Book Blog Tour: First Frost by Liz DeJesus (Review)

 

I was pretty devastated before when I tried to join this tour and wasn’t able to. You see, fairytale is my thing. As I said in my review of Maven Fairy Godmother before, I love anything fairytale, all the more if it’s a fractured fairytale. The more changes, the better! So when this tour had a second go, I immediately grabbed the chance with my grubby paws and thanks to Rachel of YA Novel Reader that I’m in! So without further ado, here’s a review of the fanflippingtastic First Frost!

First Frost

Title: First Frost
Author: Liz DeJesus

Fairytales aren’t real…yeah…that’s exactly what Bianca thought. She was wrong.

For generations, the Frost family has run the Museum of Magical and Rare Artifacts, handing down guardianship from mother to daughter, always keeping their secrets to “family only.”

Gathered within museum’s walls is a collection dedicated to the Grimm fairy tales and to the rare items the family has acquired: Cinderella’s glass slipper, Snow White’s poisoned apple, the evil queen’s magic mirror, Sleeping Beauty’s enchanted spinning wheel…

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Frost wants none of it, dreaming instead of a career in art or photography or…well, anything except working in the family’s museum. She knows the items in the glass display cases are fakes because, of course, magic doesn’t really exist.

She’s about to find out how wrong she is.

Purchase at Musa Publishing

My Review

Giddy can’t even describe how I felt while and after reading First Frost. Gah, I love anything fairytale, especially fractured fairytales and revisioned fairytales. I dig them so much it’s not healthy. So this book is just right up my alley.

It was a fun, cute, zippy read and it had me laughing and cringing and basically feeling everything the characters felt. I love Bianca and Ming and I think I could totally be them. Haha! It’s a modern fairytale with a fairly modern and normal teenager as the heroine so it’s easily relatable and don’t you just wish you were Bianca? I sure did!

It’s take a while for the plot to take off but once it did, it will never let you down or bore you. It was so fun while it lasted and I still yearn for more! I want to reread it to relive that happiness I felt. That’s how cute and brainless (in the nicest way; the greatest compliment I can give books that are easy to read) it is and it’s just so my drift!

But it’s not all fun as our characters are not one-dimensional and actually grow in the story. You get a confident Bianca in the end, confident with her powers and everything else. Teenagers are just so awesome, don’t you think?

Anyway, I absolutely recommend this book! :D

About Liz DeJesus

Liz DeJesus was born on the tiny island of Puerto Rico. She is a novelist and a poet. She has been writing for as long as she was capable of holding a pen. She is the author of the novel Nina (Blu Phi’er Publishing, October 2007) and The Jackets (Arte Publico Press, March 31st 2011). Liz is currently working on a new novel.

Website | Facebook

Follow the Tour

Click on the tour banner to check out the tour schedule. Enjoy hopping!

About whoopeeyoo

I'm a TV and film junkie. Be it American, Korean, Japanese, Taiwanese, I watch them all. No wonder I don't have enough sleep and hard drive memory. Hee. And oh, fangirling is my business.

2 thoughts on “Book Blog Tour: First Frost by Liz DeJesus (Review)

  1. YEY! So glad you enjoyed First Frost! And I’m happy to hear that you were able to be a part of the second blog tour (Rachel told me that there were a few bloggers that wanted to be a part of the first one so that’s what made me want to do a second one). I’m also working on the sequel to First Frost, I’m hoping that this will be an on going series (fingers crossed). Anyway thank you for being a part of the blog tour and for taking the time to read my book. :D

    • Sure thing, Liz! It was amazing! And yes, I pretty much squealed in delight when I got to be in the second blog tour. I would love to review the sequel! :D Thanks for dropping by! <3

Leave a Reply

