Book Blog Tour: Dreamwalker by Andrea Heltsley (Review)

This post was supposed to go up last Saturday but with everything that has happened, I just hope Leisha and Julie will still allow me to join future AToMR tours. Stupid Internet connection. Anyway, the giveaway is pretty much done by now so I am really sorry but I’m still here to give a review. I might be late but if I promise to post about it, I will. So I hope you still enjoy even if the tour’s already finished. :)

Dreamwalker (Persephone's League of Immortals)

Title: Dreamwalker (Persephone’s League of Immortals)
Author: Andrea Heltsley
Date of Publication: May 23, 2012

Noel Kennedy lost her boyfriend, her job and her dignity all in one week. Then something happened and she began to dream of this stranger she had never met. She couldn’t resist the man of her dreams named Jared especially when she met him in real life. Entranced, she slowly unraveled a world she was meant to stay out of. Her life was not what she thought it was once a sexy Boone stepped into the mix and shook things up. Can she escape a life of servitude or immortality for a chance at love?

My Review

First off, I freakin’ love this cover. As in. It gives off a misty feeling and the girl is so pretty and I think all the elements of the cover just shines. So props for the cover designer and to Andrea. I think I should probably ask her who did it. :P

So with my cover love out, let’s get to the review. When I read the blurb for the book, I immediately signed up for the tour. It was downright interesting for me and so, I wanna read it for free. Heehee. Everything is going swimmingly and all of a sudden, it’s not. And then you’re exposed and forced to take part in a world where everything you’ve ever believed in is not actually everything there is. Woah, back up, that would be mind-blowing for me. But I can only imagine and Noel has to live with it. Thus, with that concept, the story presented before us became full of romance, mystery and adventure. However, even with an engaging plot, it felt slow at times. I find that the gripes I have with Dreamwalker are almost the same with that of Dissolve, another of Andrea’s books that I have reviewed. The dialogue is once again a bit stilted and the characters were not as developed as I would like them to be. But Andrea’s strength is in creating a wonderful world and an engaging plot. I do hope she improves on her characterization. Dreamwalker is the first book of a series and while I enjoyed reading it, I wouldn’t be as mad to read the sequel like I felt with Catching Fire. I do hope that the second book is far greater than Dreamwalker because I do know some series that got better with each sequel.

Thank you to AToMR tours for the chance to read and review this book!

About Andrea Heltsley

“I am a biology nerd who loves reading just about anything paranormal and some chick lit. I am a caffeine junky who loves Starbucks. Dissolve is my first novel. I have been writing ever since I was in grade school and have finally decided to make a career out of it. More books to come late 2012 and 2013.”

Blog | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Facebook

Follow the Tour!

The tour’s done but check out other reviews and interviews and guest posts by clicking on the tour banner at the top of this post. Thank you!

About whoopeeyoo

I'm a TV and film junkie. Be it American, Korean, Japanese, Taiwanese, I watch them all. No wonder I don't have enough sleep and hard drive memory. Hee. And oh, fangirling is my business.

Leave a Reply

