My 2014 Obsessions – Part 1

You know me, I like to keep track. And you know me, I am highly obsessive and easily excited. So I’ll be sharing the albums, tracks, movies, TV shows, and books I obsessed over the past year. Because I’m usually late at watching movies and listening to songs, everything mentioned in here won’t be strictly 2014 releases.

Part 1 will be albums, 2 for tracks, 3 for movies and lastly, 4 for TV shows. If you want to check out my favorite books from 2014, I’ll be posting that in my book blog soon. So, let’s get to it!

Top Five Albums I Loved This Year
(in no particular order because I don’t need added stress)
(and by album, I mean the WHOLE album, ALL the songs)

BLUE FILM by Lo-Fang (2013)

When I discovered Lo-Fang, I thought I reached nirvana. THAT. VOICE. THAT. TALENT. He’s a classically trained musician and he plays the cello, violin, etc in his gigs. And I won’t be able to stop if we get to the LYRICS. Damn, boy, you got me hooked on you 5ever.

Favorite tracks: When We’re Fire, Confusing Happiness

HOZIER by Hozier (2014)

Then I discovered Hozier and I set it my goal to marry him. Hahaha! I am mostly kidding. He’s freakin’ 24 and Take Me To Church has already been nominated for a Grammy. Sheer talent, man. His lyrics? So freakin’ gold. I am also absolutely proud of his success story because he came from nowhere and now he’s this big. He even performed in the VS Fashion Show. GAH. Plus, his long hair and scruff. WAHAHA. But seriously, I think he’s quite the greatest artist of this generation. I love Allen Stone too but Hozierrrrr. THAT HUSKY, RAW VOICE. DAMN.

Favorite tracks: Take Me To Church, To Be Alone (Jackie and Wilson, Angel of Small Death & The Codeine Scene, uhm every track?)

TOWARDS by We Were Evergreen (2014)

I haven’t blogged about it here because December was such a blur of busy days after busy days but We Were Evergreen went to the Philippines and I was there in their first show. I. WAS. THERE. I’m that cool, you guys. Haha! I love how fresh their sound is and duh, Fabienne’s mad xylophone skillz is enchanting. Ugh, I should have greeted them with Enchante when I saw them. That’s French, right? Anyway, they’re madly talented and they sound so good live. I love love love We Were Evergreen and their songs and I even got the CD I bought signed because they’re SO kind and approachable and I’m getting incoherent again because it was honestly one of the highlights of my year. I’ll try to post a recap of the event but don’t hold your breath on that.

Favorite tracks: Daughters, False Start (Quicksand, Best Thing, etc)

VESSEL by twenty one pilots (2013)

I will forever be thankful for my friend Miguel for introducing me to twenty one pilots. I didn’t really heed his recommendation until I heard WALK THE MOON cover their song House of Gold. After that, I was a goner. You’ll notice that I value the song lyrics so high and twenty one pilots won me over in that facet and with the chopped-up-but-it-works-greatly sound they have. I mean, they rap, they have slow songs, they do almost everything and everything is awesome. Goodness.

Favorite tracks: Holding On To You, House of Gold (Car Radio is so sad, you guys)

tih

TALKING IS HARD by WALK THE MOON (2014)

And of course, this album, which is still on repeat even though a month has already passed. WALK THE MOON is just my absolute favorite band and I love all of the songs in this album and how diverse the stories the lyrics are telling and I JUST LOVE THEM, OKAY?

Favorite tracks: EVERY TRACK (but between you and me, I love Come Under The Covers most)

Yay! Tomorrow, check out my top fifteen tracks. Because I rarely listen to whole albums.

About whoopeeyoo

I'm a TV and film junkie. Be it American, Korean, Japanese, Taiwanese, I watch them all. No wonder I don't have enough sleep and hard drive memory. Hee. And oh, fangirling is my business.

2 thoughts on “My 2014 Obsessions – Part 1

  1. Pingback: My 2014 Obsessions – Part 2 | whoopeeyoo! :D

  2. Pingback: My 2014 Obsessions – Part 3 | whoopeeyoo! :D

Leave a Reply

