My 2014 Obsessions – Part 2

So yay, for today, I’m sharing the tracks that I got obsessed to (read: played again and again and again for at least a week) this year. (If you want to check out my favorite albums for the year, you can do so HERE.) Here goes!

Top Fifteen Tracks I Loved This Year
(in no particular order because I want to keep my sanity)

Me and My Broken Heart by Rixton

I mean, I don’t blog much here anymore but I blogged about this song here. Seriously, guys, I played this for more than a week. This one song only for more than a week. Good thing I was wearing headphones (except when I was doing the dishes) because boy would I have been decked for listening to this repeatedly.

Somebody To You by The Vamps feat. Demi Lovato

Here’s another one. Like I said in my post here, I didn’t get addicted to this song until the second listen that happened months after the first. Then, I couldn’t sing any other song for a week. And yes, this has been the song that accompanied me in so many dishwashing duties I had. Oh, and I don’t like the album version actually. I love the music video version because Demi was more heard there. #LovaticForever

Lesson for the day: Dianne is the designated dishwasher in their household.

Ramona by Velociraptor

Damn these Aussies. Seriously. Their sound is a bit raw, well, it’s garage-rock so whadduyaexpect but heck if it ain’t catchy. And I really like the story of the lyrics. Can’t wait for more from Velociraptor!

Warning by Autre Ne Veut

Thank you, MTV and Faking It for introducing me to this song. Thank you. So catchy, so melodious, so infectious. Gah!

Tigers by The Submarines

Yeah, I pretty much get my songs from TV shows and films. So I got this one from Two Night Stand (starring Miles Teller and Analeigh Tipton and a movie I enjoyed so much) and I watched the film months ago but this song is still in my roster this time of the year. Once again, love the lyrics, and I don’t really know my way around music terminologies but this is just my jam. (It appeals to that side of me that still likes some cutesy indie pop and don’t look at me like that.)

Dreaming by Smallpools

If I have to thank Spotify for one single thing for this year, it’d be for this song. Actually, no, there are two more songs in this list brought to you by Spotify. And dude, they streamed WALK THE MOON’s Talking is Hard a week early and Spotify will forever be on my nice list during Christmas. ANYWAY, as I was saying, I discovered this song and Smallpools for that matter because of Spotify. ALL HAIL SPOTIFY. This song is so in-your-face and standing-up-to-the-man and I DIG IT SO HARD.

1957 by Milo Greene

I actually have Spotify to thank again for Milo Greene but not for this song. I listened to On The Fence on Spotify and I like what I heard so I dug more of Milo Greene’s discography and BAM, THIS SONG. So soothing yet so nostalgic and I love the message. Folk pop, man. The way into my playlist is via folk pop.

There’s Nothing In The Water We Can’t Fight by Cloud Control

Love love love the religious shit this song has going on if my interpretation is correct. It’s about the Ganges River, right? I listened to this song to calm me down and to let me focus during school days and I also slept with it playing. Not exactly good for studying if it can make me sleep but man, I think this is even better than bathing in lavender-scented milk.

Salvation by Gabrielle Aplin

I shouldn’t like Gabrielle Aplin on paper because her music is not usually my thing but boy, I can’t say no to this v talented artist and her heartfelt lyrics and melancholic tunes and voice. Plus, I associate this song to one of my favorite books of the year and it’s just apt that this is here as well.

Darling Are You Gonna Leave Me by London Grammar

London Grammar. I mean, heck, I can listen to Hannah Reid sing haunting ooohhs and aaahhhs the rest of my life, okay. HER VOICE, MAN. With the disbandment of Cavalier Rose (which broke my heart even if no one knows them which broke my heart even more because damn why aren’t they big), London Grammar filled up the gap after years of me searching for that band with the haunting female lead voice. Hey Now was my first song from them but I actually like this song better, I don’t know why.

Tous Les Memes by Stromae

I have to thank Cel for this but Stromae! STROMAE! Fucking Stromae. I can’t even explain how much his music videos are such works of art (HALLO, IT’S FRENCH) and gutting his lyrics are and most of the time. Of course I read a translation, dumbass, I don’t speak French. But man, talent. Talent. *slow claps*

Riptide by Vance Joy

Thank you, Spotify! I haven’t really listened to Vance Joy’s other songs because they didn’t really stick to me at first listen. But this one did. It’s even the first song I learned to play in my ukulele. Go figure.

Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High? by Arctic Monkeys

I’m not really a fan of Arctic Monkeys because I haven’t really listened to their songs but thanks to Miley (yes, Miley Cyrus), I got to know this song. I remember repeating this non-stop during my first weeks at work.

Let Me In by Grouplove

While I’m not a big fan of the The Fault in Our Stars movie (and the book for that matter), I love the soundtrack immensely. Here’s one I got off of it! I remember even having the lyrics on my phone so I can memorize it and sing it a capella. Uh, yeah, I’m that person.

Boom Clap by Charli XCX

I initially hated this song and then I got over it and I love it. It’s just so damn catchy and I’m powerless to it. Plus, Charli XCX! I like Nuclear Seasons too but that’s not really a recent release and I was way more addicted to Boom Clap than that song.

So that’s it for Day 2! Tomorrow will be dedicated to movies!

About whoopeeyoo

I'm a TV and film junkie. Be it American, Korean, Japanese, Taiwanese, I watch them all. No wonder I don't have enough sleep and hard drive memory. Hee. And oh, fangirling is my business.

One thought on “My 2014 Obsessions – Part 2

  1. Pingback: My 2014 Obsessions – Part 3 | whoopeeyoo! :D

Leave a Reply

