My 2014 Obsessions – Part 3

This is Day 3 of me sharing my obsessions for the year and the penultimate post on this series (I love that word). If you want to know my favorite albums or my favorite tracks of the year, click on the links and it’ll take you to my kind of jam. Day 3 will focus on movies so yay!

I love watching movies and since 2011, I had a movie challenge that I always failed. Either because I watch too many TV shows or because I got so busy or because I gave all my time to reading. This 2014, I challenged myself to 120 movies (hahaha) then I rescinded that to a hundred because it felt impossible. But then, just a few days ago, I cheated and lowered the bar very very low to 50 movies. And this year, I conquered the challenge! YAY!!! Don’t call me out on cheating, it’s not your place.

Having only watched 53 movies this year, it’d be weird to choose my top 10 movies. That’s 20% of my total count. So I only chose five and 10% seems fair enough. (What are these hang-ups I have?)

If you want to check out all the movies I watched this year, you can do so HERE. I also include short reviews for each film so you can read what I thought. Without further ado, here are my top five movies of the year!

Top Five Films
(in order of watching)

On The Job (2013)

I am so happy to have a Filipino film in here. This was the first movie I watched this year and goodness, I can still vividly remember it. I am so happy to have started the year with a bang with this. My heart felt like it was shredded into pieces.

About Time (2013)

Before this film, I could never quite answer what’s my favorite film. Now I can because it is this film. Goodness.

 

Kill Your Darlings (2013)

Probably the only four-star movie in this list but come on, it was about the Beat Generation and it has DANE DeHAAN AND DANIEL RADCLIFFE. Love the script, love the plot, love the acting, the directing, everything. So yeah, deal with it.

Ruby Sparks (2012)

Because of this film, I’m pretty much a Zoe Kazan fan for life. This movie is perfection. I don’t have any qualms about it.

 

Dallas Buyers Club (2013)

2014 was the year I became a fan of Matthew McConaughey. I have yet to watch a lot of his films but damn, I’ve long forgotten the rom-com Matthew McConaughey. It is really the McConaissance. And please, Jared Leto. Here’s what I thought about this film right after I watched it:

Fucking A+. I didn’t even see Matthew McConaughey or Jared Leto. All I saw were Ron Woodroof and Rayon. Fucking amazing acting. It definitely deserves all the awards it won.

Done! How about you? What are your favorite movies of the year?

About whoopeeyoo

I'm a TV and film junkie. Be it American, Korean, Japanese, Taiwanese, I watch them all. No wonder I don't have enough sleep and hard drive memory. Hee. And oh, fangirling is my business.

Leave a Reply

